Upcoming Events

no events match your query!

New Events

no events posted in last week

Blog Feeds

Anti-Empire

Anti-Empire

offsite link The Wholesome Photo of the Month Thu May 09, 2024 11:01 | Anti-Empire

offsite link In 3 War Years Russia Will Have Spent $3... Thu May 09, 2024 02:17 | Anti-Empire

offsite link UK Sending Missiles to Be Fired Into Rus... Tue May 07, 2024 14:17 | Marko Marjanović

offsite link US Gives Weapons to Taiwan for Free, The... Fri May 03, 2024 03:55 | Anti-Empire

offsite link Russia Has 17 Percent More Defense Jobs ... Tue Apr 30, 2024 11:56 | Marko Marjanović

Anti-Empire >>

Human Rights in Ireland
A Blog About Human Rights

offsite link UN human rights chief calls for priority action ahead of climate summit Sat Oct 30, 2021 17:18 | Human Rights

offsite link 5 Year Anniversary Of Kem Ley?s Death Sun Jul 11, 2021 12:34 | Human Rights

offsite link Poor Living Conditions for Migrants in Southern Italy Mon Jan 18, 2021 10:14 | Human Rights

offsite link Right to Water Mon Aug 03, 2020 19:13 | Human Rights

offsite link Human Rights Fri Mar 20, 2020 16:33 | Human Rights

Human Rights in Ireland >>

Lockdown Skeptics

The Daily Sceptic

offsite link Even AI Knows the MHRA is Failing Us on Vaccine Safety Sat Jun 22, 2024 09:00 | Nick Hunt
Even AI knows the MHRA is failing us on vaccine safety, says Nick Hunt. Its answers were spot on as it called for "urgent attention" to be given to "systemic issues" of failure to spot and investigate safety problems.
The post Even AI Knows the MHRA is Failing Us on Vaccine Safety appeared first on The Daily Sceptic.

offsite link Senior Official in Department For Energy Security & Net Zero Admits Labour?s Plans to Decarbonise U.... Sat Jun 22, 2024 07:00 | Paul Homewood
Paul Homewood received a letter from the Deputy Director Strategy at the Department for Energy Security & Net Zero acknowledging that plans to decarbonise the electricity grid by 2030 ? or 2035 ?are unworkable.
The post Senior Official in Department For Energy Security & Net Zero Admits Labour?s Plans to Decarbonise U.K.?s Electricity Grid by 2030 are Completely Unworkable appeared first on The Daily Sceptic.

offsite link News Round-Up Sat Jun 22, 2024 00:56 | Richard Eldred
A summary of the most interesting stories in the past 24 hours that challenge the prevailing orthodoxy about the ?climate emergency?, public health ?crises? and the supposed moral defects of Western civilisation.
The post News Round-Up appeared first on The Daily Sceptic.

offsite link E-Scooter Causes Fire That Burns Down Seven Homes Fri Jun 21, 2024 17:06 | Will Jones
Fire chiefs have issued a warning after an e-scooter was blamed for a devastating blaze that tore through a row of seven houses.
The post E-Scooter Causes Fire That Burns Down Seven Homes appeared first on The Daily Sceptic.

offsite link Springtime for Tyrants Fri Jun 21, 2024 15:07 | Dr David McGrogan
BBC 'Disinformation Correspondent' Marianna Spring worries about Russian spies, trolls, bots and Brexiteers. But most of all she worries "real people" will be "emboldened" to talk about politics online.
The post Springtime for Tyrants appeared first on The Daily Sceptic.

Lockdown Skeptics >>

Voltaire Network
Voltaire, international edition

offsite link Voltaire, International Newsletter N°92 Fri Jun 21, 2024 14:51 | en

offsite link Western domination of the rest of the world is now over Fri Jun 21, 2024 14:42 | en

offsite link France facing the change of era, by Thierry Meyssan Tue Jun 18, 2024 06:59 | en

offsite link After Ukraine, Serbia? Fri Jun 14, 2024 14:07 | en

offsite link Voltaire, International Newsletter N°91 Fri Jun 14, 2024 13:06 | en

Voltaire Network >>

international / health / disability issues / opinion/analysis Wednesday December 09, 2020 22:04 by Joe Terry
Ireland’s health care languishes in the doldrums. read full story / add a comment
corona-covid-old_people_shadow.jpg
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Tuesday November 03, 2020 22:37 by Peter Koenig   image 1 image   video 1 video file

We, The People, are concerned about worldwide media reporting about covid.

Are you, Western Media Moguls, realizing that there is hardly anything else on your programs other than covid? – Covid is at the center of everything. Covid discussions appear every hour on the hour, in the news and in between the news.

Covid reporting is non-stop alarming and fearmongering.

read full story / add a comment
international / sci-tech / opinion/analysis Tuesday November 03, 2020 21:43 by Sean Crudden
I do not know much about it. But I think science policy nationally and internationally is a delicate balance. It's difficult to form a picture of who is doing research, what are their objectives, what are the rewards. My impression is that science is mostly controlled by commercial interests. What is invented mostly is what can sell. You have copyright and secrecy backed up by law to preserve the pitch for profit. It is easy to see the sense in this because it provides an incentive for scientists and their employers to spend time and money on research.

But there is also a negative aspect to this way of doing things. Manufacturers are not wholly induced to innovate. They might see more profit from concentrating on already discovered products. Pharmaceuticals are, perhaps, an example of this. Instead of looking for new and improved drugs, they may see more profit from continuing to produce older drugs even if they are less than perfect with lots of unwanted effects. read full story / add a comment
international / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Tuesday October 27, 2020 21:33 by Peter Koenig
Brussels (EU and European NATO Headquarters) – On 21 October 2020, the German Press Agency (dpa) reports that Germany pledges NATO soldiers for possible Covid-19 operations: “German soldiers could be sent on crisis missions to other NATO and partner countries during the second wave of the Corona pandemic. As a spokesman for the Ministry of Defense confirmed, the German government has promised NATO support for its “Allied Hand” emergency plan. According to this plan, medical personnel, pioneers and experts from the force would be made available for foreign missions to counter nuclear, biological or chemical hazards as required. The contingency plan is to be activated, for example, if a collapse of the health care system is imminent in allied or NATO partner countries due to very high infection rates and the affected state asks for support.” read full story / add a comment
national / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Wednesday September 30, 2020 21:58 by Sean Crudden
The current debacle in education over Leaving Cert results is a stark example of lack of thought about the fundamentals of human rights. Should high marks in an exam entitle one child to a place in some coveted university course while denying it to another child who has lower marks. Put another way does high intelligence give a student more entitlements. read full story / add a comment
international / anti-capitalism / opinion/analysis Thursday September 10, 2020 06:55 by Jason Phelan
Antifa and Black Lives Matter are now forever interconnected with the NBL, the NFL, NASCAR, ESPN, Goodyear, Gillette, A&E, CBS, Netflix, BBC, CNN, Buzz feed, Vice, Yahoo. This is a condensed list of some of the bigger players. Counter culture indeed. read full story / add a comment
cork / health / disability issues / opinion/analysis Monday September 07, 2020 01:50 by Michael Donahue Steinberg
During this Labor Day weekend here the US, we're number 1 in Covid deaths and have millions out of work consequently, Here in San Francisco, as fires rage and smoke overwhelms, we're supposed to stay inside with our windows shut and have no fun. In light of all this, I thought I'd share Cork-born labor heroine Mother Jones' experience of surviving the epidemic of her day. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Sunday August 30, 2020 20:59 by Anthony Ravlich
In my view, distrust of the UN is the reason America opposed economic, social, and cultural rights as promoted by Bernie Sanders and as included in ethical human rights. read full story / add a comment
Satire on Romantic Suicide (1839) by Leonardo Alenza y Nieto (1807–1845)
international / arts and media / opinion/analysis Wednesday July 29, 2020 19:17 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 1 image
“We are slipping back from the age of reason into the mire of mystery, into a world of gods and devils, ghouls and angels. The difference this time is that we have chosen ignorance over knowledge, vapidity over insight, folly over realism. Consequently, we only have ourselves to blame when the rich and powerful take advantage of us.” – Andrew Davenport

Introduction

Why do we need to talk about Romanticism? What is Romanticism? And how does it affect us in the 21st century? The fact is that we are so immersed in Romanticism now that we cannot see the proverbial wood for the haunted-looking trees. Romanticism has so saturated our culture that we need to stand back and remind ourselves what it is, and examine how it has seeped into our thinking processes to the extent that we are not even aware of its presence anymore. Or why this is a problem. The Romanticist influence of intense emotion makes up a large part of modern culture, for example, in much pop music, cinema, TV and literature, e.g. genres such as Superheroes, Fantasy, Horror, Magical realism, Saga, Westerns. I will look at the origins of Romanticism, and its negative influence on culture and politics. I will show how Enlightenment ideas originally emerged in opposition to an absolute monarchy and the fixed dogmas of the Church and led to the formation of a working class ideology and culture of resistance. read full story / add a comment
international / environment / opinion/analysis Sunday July 12, 2020 16:47 by lefty   text 5 comments (last - saturday july 18, 2020 19:21)
Michael Moore's important new film 'Planet of Humans' has given shape to suspicions that I and many others have had about the burgeoning green movement and what is driving it's sudden popularity across the spectrum, despite all the years "in the wilderness" when old school green activists were pariahs.
Of course It's the usual reason as we suspected: i.e. corporate PROFIT!
WATCH THIS MOVIE!! read full story / add a comment
international / politics / elections / opinion/analysis Thursday July 02, 2020 12:40 by Joe Terry
Comparing similarities of the Political Governance in Ireland to that of China.
read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Monday June 29, 2020 22:26 by 1 of indy   text 1 comment (last - sunday july 12, 2020 16:32)
Finally there is someone out there and certainly not from the mainstream media who is calling bullshit on the whole Covid nonsense. In this opinion piece by John Church from the hectordrummond blog, many will nod their head in agreement. He really cuts through the crap.

I have had enough. After nearly 3 months of this, I am going to call it for what it is: TOTAL AND UTTER NONSENSE. I cannot watch any news programme anymore, given the 24/7 monochromal pseudo-emotion that is all we ever see. read full story / add a comment
King George II equestrian monument
national / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Thursday June 18, 2020 17:19 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 5 images
"Symbols are what unite and divide people. Symbols give us our identity, our self-image,our way of explaining ourselves to others. Symbols in turn determine the kinds of stories we tell; and the stories we tell determine the kind of history we make and remake."
Mary Robinson, Inauguration speech as President of Ireland, December 3, 1990

Introduction

On the night of the 8 March 1966 a massive explosion was heard in the centre of Dublin and Nelson's Pillar came crashing to the ground in hundreds of tons of rubble. No one was hurt and a stump was all that could be seen of the 157 year old monument. It was not the first time that monuments had been attacked in Ireland and certainly not the last, at least figuratively, with a series of later monuments accruing many derogatory nicknames from the Dublin people.

The recent spate of attacks on monuments in the US and the Uk has opened up the debate on the cultural issues they provoke, ranging from those who can't believe the attacks hadn't happened sooner to those who see their destruction as mob vandalism.
read full story / add a comment
national / worker & community struggles and protests / opinion/analysis Monday June 15, 2020 23:47 by 1 of indy
Today we are reproducing a press release from the Socialist Party on Covid-19 with our own comments added because the Left in general along with all the opposition parties has completely swallowed the Covid-19 is a deadly pandemic narrative hook, line and sinker. On another story soon, we will address the why. In the meantime from their perspective protecting workers rights and health is the natural thing to do but they seem confused by the sudden concern by the government for people. We offer a different perspective that explains things in a more consistent way,
read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Wednesday May 13, 2020 09:28 by Anthony Ravlich
If my book was far less suppressed the UN may take a more positive view of Taiwan's wish to gain formal recognition in the World Health Organization. The UN seems to be following China's 'One-China policy' by excluding Taiwan. read full story / add a comment
international / history and heritage / opinion/analysis Monday May 11, 2020 22:33 by Kollektiv.26 - Autonomous Group Ulm
May 8th is the day of liberation for many of those suffering Nazi persecution. What is still missing today is denazification, coming to terms with the crimes, a culture of remembrance. read full story / add a comment
international / anti-war / imperialism / opinion/analysis Monday May 04, 2020 09:14 by Zahir Ebrahim | Project Humanbeingsfirst.org   1 attached file
Pandemic 2020 is to bring the world multiple steps closer to one-world dystopia. This could very well be the Year Zero of Dystopian World Order. However, that final stage before one-world government can be fully cemented into earth history without remnance of public resistance, must still be an even graver cosmological threat of existential proportions, an alien invasion... but we shall see how far this microbial enemy can take us on the Hard Road to a New Dystopian World Order.

That alien threat isn't so far fetched as may first appear to the innocent of knowledge: The Pentagon has released three unclassified videos taken by Navy pilots showing unidentified flying objects, reports world's news media in unison on April 27, 2020, just in time to add to mankind's existential worries. read full story / add a comment
Brunelleschi, in the building of the dome of Florence Cathedral (Italy) in the early 15th century (1296-1436), not only transformed the building and the city, but also the role and status of the architect.
international / arts and media / opinion/analysis Saturday May 02, 2020 15:23 by Caoimhghin Ó Croidheáin   image 1 image
Should sustainability and affordability be a major factor in the design and development of future buildings? What about aesthetics? There are many individual examples of modern buildings today that have positive aesthetic qualities, but can major future problems, like climate change, be resolved by individual efforts? Or will it take the role of the state with grand visions for the future? read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Thursday April 30, 2020 15:16 by Anthony Ravlich
The connection between the coronavirus pandemic, China, the United Nations and a One World Government. read full story / add a comment
international / rights, freedoms and repression / opinion/analysis Thursday April 23, 2020 23:26 by Zahir Ebrahim | Project Humanbeingsfirst.org   1 attached file
This latest compendium of essays on medical and climate pretexts for constructing world order: The Useful Idiot's Guide to Pandemic 2020, is my last. Vaccines for coronavirus Covid-19 plaguing mankind at this moment, when most nations on earth have some level of lockdown with stay at home orders, shall soon become the medical establishment's next big sales pitch. The fear-mongering coupled to the deadly man-made contagion would have been a most successful marketing exercise in history in global demand creation for vaccines.

Vaccination will not be voluntary either, but mandatory, and sanctioned by law. You make up your own damn mind after reading this book whether you wish to take that vaccine and enter the brave new world that it shall herald, or, resist taking it and end up belonging to the new undesirable-untouchable underworld class without the digital vaccination certificate built into your body.

Either way, the world order that shall enslave mankind beckons --- unless the public worldwide awakens to its dangers now and resists it forcefully --- it is virtually already a fait accompli. The sheep are of course never known to resist the butcher's knife nor protest the habit of mutton eating. read full story / add a comment
This page can be viewed in
English Gaeilge

IMC network

© 2001-2024 Independent Media Centre Ireland. Unless otherwise stated by the author, all content is free for non-commercial reuse, reprint, and rebroadcast, on the net and elsewhere. Opinions are those of the contributors and are not necessarily endorsed by Independent Media Centre Ireland. Disclaimer | Privacy